« BackBallybay and Killanny win Monaghan Football League titles

Monaghan GAA


Ballybay and Killanny were crowned Monaghan Senior and Intermediate Football League Champions today with wins over Castleblayney and Inniskeen respectively.

In the Senior Final, two goals from Hugh Malone and a third goal from Dessie Ward helped Ballybay to victory with seven points to spare as they defeated Blayney by 3-11 to 1-10. A Ciaran Hanratty goal in the second half followed by a point from Dermot Malone did bring Blayney back to within two points of Ballybay, however, Dessie Ward raised the green flag for Ballybay to help put six points between the teams, and although Castleblayney again reduced the deficit to just two points, Ballybay pulled away with two points from Paul Finlay and a point each from Dessie Ward and Ryan Wylie to secure the Senior League title for Ballybay.

Killanny won their second successive league title as a Gavin Traynor goal earned them a one point triumph in the Intermediate Football League Final over Inniskeen as they ran our winners by 1-08 to 0-10. Killanny won the Junior League title in 2015.

Ballybays captain spoke with Damien Donohue

Ballybay manager Mickey Donnelly