Monaghan’s championship dream comes to an end

Tyrone 1-13

Monaghan 0-15

Monaghan’s championship journey ended as Tyrone pipped the Farney army to a place in the All-Ireland final on September second against Dublin.

Niall Sludden’s 64th minute goal, proving the decisive score. While Monaghan manager Malachy O’Rourke feels aggrieved that only three minutes of injury time were added at the end of the game.

“I cant understand why there was only three minutes” explained O’Rourke.

It was a tense game in Croke Park with the half-time score reading Monaghan and Tyrone eight points apiece.

Monaghan took the lead for the first time in the 61st minute through a Conor McManus point, but after Sluddens goal Tyrone never surrendered the lead.

Two points from Peter Harte ensuring the one point win for Tyrone.

It will be the red hand counties first All-Ireland final in 10 years while Monaghan’s 88 year wait will stretch to another year.

A campaign that saw Monaghan’s partake in nine championship games. After the match Monaghan manager Malachy O’Rourke joined Alan Gunn to look back on the game and the season.

O’Rourke declaring he had “tremendous pride” in his team. Listen here;

Scorers for Tyrone: Niall Sludden 1-2, Connor McAliskey 0-4 (2fs), Peter Harte 0-2 (1f), Cathal McShane, Colm Cavanagh, Frank Burns, Tiarnan McCann, Lee Brennan (f) 0-1 each

Scorers for Monaghan: Conor McManus 0-7 (6fs), Conor McCarthy 0-3, Kieran Hughes 0-2, Drew Wylie, Fintan Kelly, Rory Beggan (f) 0-1 each.

Tyrone: Niall Morgan; Padraig Hampsey, Michael McKernan, Ronan McNamee; Tiarnan McCann, Mattie Donnelly, Peter Harte; Colm Cavanagh, Cathal McShane; Kieran McGeary, Niall Sludden, Frank Burns; Lee Brennan, Richie Donnelly, Connor McAliskey.

Subs: Harry Loughran for Burns (HT), Mark Bradley for Lee Brennan (48), Rory Brennan for McNamee (51), Conall McCann for R Donnelly (58), Ronan O’Neill for McAliskey (63), Declan McClure for McShane (63).

Monaghan: Rory Beggan; Kieran Duffy, Drew Wylie, Ryan Wylie; Colin Walshe, Vinny Corey, Karl O’Connell; Darren Hughes, Niall Kearns; Fintan Kelly, Dermot Malone, Shane Carey; Conor McCarthy, Ryan McAnespie, Conor McManus.

Subs: Dessie Mone for Malone (46), Kieran Hughes for Carey (51), Jack McCarron for Corey (69).

Refeere: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow).