15 3-Pointers from a 15-Year-Old

CJ Fulton stole the show with a Harlem globe trotters display at the Subway Schools under-16 A final on Thursday.

Fulton landed 15 3-point shots and a total of 47 points as St.Malachy Belfast beat St. Mary’s CBS The Green Tralee 62-46.

That’s right 15-year-old Fulton landed 47 of his side’s 62 points and outscored St. Mary’s CBS with 15 3-pointers.

In a nip and tuck opening quarter Rapolas Buivydas dominated for Tralee, getting in some early scores to keep the game neck-in-neck.

However, six of Fulton’s three pointers were to come in the first quarter and unable to keep him under control, Malachy’s lead 28-15 at the first buzzer.

And it didn’t stop, in fact it rained three’s for Malachy’s with Conor Eastwood adding a good score early on, but the first half and indeed, the entire game belonged to Fulton, who finished the second quarter with 33 points to his name.

All 33 coming from 11 three-pointers, to see his side ahead 43-23 going into the third quarter.

Again, it was Buivydas who was a handful for the Malachy’s defence as the third quarter began.

With brilliant link up play with Niall Fitzmaurice and Darragh Broderick saw some great scores for the Tralee school Kieran Donaghy cheered them on from the sidelines.

A much closer affair ensued in the third-quarter, with the sides matching each other score for score, Malachy’s though led by 22 points, 57-35 going into the final quarter.

Another top class display from Fulton through to the end saw him finish the game out with 15 three-pointers, and there was no question in anyone’s mind as to where the MVP award was going as Malachy’s ran out 62-46 point winners.

You can watch Fulton’s incredible feat here;


 ST MARY’S CBS THE GREEN, TRALEE: Ciaran Brosnan (6), Niall Fitzmaurice (10), David Moriarty, Jack Moriarty, Rapolas Buivydas (21), Luke Chester (4), Dylan Harris, Darragh Broderick (5), Peter Kearns, Darragh Falvey, Seamus Bradley, Rew Guardiano.

ST MALACHY’S BELFAST: John Rainey, CJ Fulton (47), Ryan Kingi, Conor Eastwood (4), Niall Morgan, Odhran O’Boyle (3), Conall McGirr, Darragh Ferguson (2), Niall Quinn, Vinecent Enginco, Conor McDonnell (2), Denis Price (4), Jordan Cunningham, Eoin Hackett, Callum Rocks.

 MVP: CJ Fulton (St Malachy’s Belfast)