Cavan And Monaghan Hurlers Nominated For Champion 15

Monaghan’s Fergal Rafter and Cavan’s Diarmaid Carney have been nominated for the 2019 Champion 15 team.

The GAA and the GPA have announced 45 nominees based on their outstanding performances in this year’s Ring, Rackard and Meagher Hurling Championships.

The Champion 15 selection will be awarded as part of the PwC All-Stars event in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday 1st November.

Leitrim’s victory in the Lory Meagher Final sees them claim five spots with captain Declan Molloy seeking a second consecutive Champion 15 award.

Lancashire’s Ronan Crowley also makes the cut after scoring 1-9 in their final defeat to Leitrim. In all 20 counties feature on the list of 45.

Christy Ring Champions Meath are well represented with six nominees while beaten finalists Down have four nominees. The six other competing counties in the competition are also represented.

Eight counties from the Nicky Rackard Championship make the shortlist with Sligo taking four places after their title success.

GAA President John Horan said: “Congratulations to all 45 players who have been named on the nominations list.

“I am delighted to see the excellence of these players honoured and their inclusion on the list of 45 is an acknowledgement of their committment to the game and some of the superb matches they featured in over the course of the summer.

“I wish them all well and look forward to the announcement of the final selection.”

The Champion 15 Nominations are;

Armagh (Nicky Rackard Cup)Simon Doherty

Dean Gaffney

Caolan Rice

Cavan (Lory Meagher Cup)Diarmaid Carney
Derry (Christy Ring Cup)Brian Óg McGilligan

Sé McGuigan

Donegal (Christy Ring Cup)Danny Cullen
Down (Christy Ring Cup)Stephen Keith

Dáithi Sands

Eoghan Sands

Caolan Taggart

Fermanagh (Lory Meagher Cup)John Duffy
Kildare (Christy Ring Cup)James Burke

Jack Sheridan

Lancashire (Lory Meagher Cup)Darren Crowley

Ronan Crowley

Greg Jacob

Leitrim (Lory Meagher Cup)James Glancy

Declan Molloy

Enda Moreton

Liam Moreton

Gavin O’Hagan

London (Christy Ring Cup)Shane Lawless
Longford (Nicky Rackard Cup)David Buckley
Louth (Nicky Rackard Cup)Darren Geoghegan
Mayo (Nicky Rackard Cup)Shane Boland
Meath (Christy Ring Cup)Shane Brennan

Sean Geraghty

Damien Healy

Keith Keoghan

Jack Regan

Shane Whitty

Monaghan (Nicky Rackard Cup)Fergal Rafter
Roscommon (Christy Ring Cup)Cathal Dolan

Pádraig Kelly

Sligo (Nicky Rackard Cup)Gerard  O’Kelly-Lynch

Keith Raymond

Joe Starr

James Weir

Tyrone (Nicky Rackard Cup)Damian Casey

Tiernan Morgan

Warwickshire (Nicky Rackard Cup)Willie Allen

John Collins

Wicklow (Christy Ring Cup)John Henderson

Stephen Kelly