23 new safety camera zones to be introduced in Cavan and Monaghan

23 new safety camera zones are being rolled out across Cavan and Monaghan next week.

It brings to 37 the total number of locations in the region.

From 6am on Monday, 23 new safety camera zones in Cavan and Monaghan will become operational.

This is in addition to fourteen existing routes that will be retained.

An Garda Siochana announced the reshuffle as part of a review of speeding on Irish roads.

In Cavan, the new zones are being introduced on the N3, the N55, the N87 as well as nine regional and local roads.

While in Monaghan there are five new safety zones on the N2, and one on the N54.

Five local and regional roads are also on the new list.

24 routes in the Northern Sound region are being taken off the scheme at the same time.

Between 2010 and the end of January of 2020, GoSafe completed over 800,000 hours of enforcement, checked more than 248 million vehicles and issued 1.5 million fixed charge notices for speeding.

Moya Murdock from the Road Safety Authority said the locations are being shared with satnav companies because the project is about “stopping people from speeding, not catching people speeding”.

A full list of the roads included in the scheme are available on Garda.ie.