3 elections expected at Cavan GAA county convention

The Cavan County Board convention takes place this evening (Wednesday) in the Hotel Kilmore with the position of chairman up for grabs.

Gerry Brady has completed his 5 year term in the role with the vice Chair Paddy Sheanon of the Killygarry club and Kieran Callaghan of the Denn club vying for the position.

The role of PRO is also available as Mark O Rourke has also completed his 5 year term and will take up the position of vice chairman unopposed.

Susan Brady of the Ballyhaise club and Sean Smith of the Denn club will contest that position.

There will also be an election for the roles of Ulster delegates with 3 names in the hat for the 2 positions available.

Gerry Brady the outgoing chairman, Kevin Reilly the current delegate and Gerry Mc Kiernan the outgoing CCC chairman are looking to fill those positions.

The other Outgoing Ulster Delegate Tom O’Reilly (Shannon Gaels) is nominated for Central Council Delegate.

Outgoing Coaching Officer Martin McGovern is not seeking re-election and Kevin Shiels (Kingscourt) is nominated for that position.

Registration is from 6:30 with the convention getting underway at 7pm.