Armagh Dump Monaghan Out Of The Championship

Monaghan bowed out of the All-Ireland championship after a 2-17 to 1-12 defeat to Armagh in Clones with Malachy O’Rourke resigning afterwards.

Armagh’s Rian O’Neill netted twice in the second half as Armagh disposed of last year’s All-Ireland semi-finalists

There can be no complaints from the Farney faithful as despite playing against the wind in the first half, Armagh took a 0-11 to 0-10 lead into the break.

O’Neill’s brace of goals in the 49th and 59th minutes put the game beyond doubt with Jack McCarron scoring a late consolation goal for the hosts.

The Orchard County had 10 different scorers in the opening half, with Jemar Hall the only one to score twice.

The sides were level three times in the first eight minutes, Jamie Clarke to the fore, Armagh had opened up a 0-8 to 0-5 lead by the midway stage of the half.

Monaghan enjoyed their best spell to draw level with points from goalkeeper Rory Beggan (two 45s) and Conor McManus before Michael Bannigan edged them ahead.

Clarke levelled for a fifth time before Andrew Murnin gave the visitors a slender half-time advantage.

Armagh resumed with points from Niall Grimley and Jarlath Og Burns before O’Neill raised his first green flag after Aidan Nugent’s initial shot was saved by Beggan to make it 1-14 to 0-10.

And things got worse for Monaghan 10 minutes later when O’Neill struck again after being set up by Clarke.