Ballybay-Clones set to lose Councillor at next local elections

The Ballybay-Clones Municipal District is to lose a Councillor at the next local elections.

The Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee’s report recommends changes to Monaghan’s voting districts, with no changes planned for Cavan.

This report examines all local election boundaries and recommends changes based on the most recent census results.

The number of Councillors in Cavan and Monaghan will remain at 18 each at next year’s election.

In Monaghan, all Municipal Districts currently have six Councillors.

However, the report recommends the Ballybay-Clones MD loses a Councillor, with the Sheskin and Scotstown electoral divisions moving to the Monaghan MD.

The move also sees the Monaghan area gain a Councillor, with seven seats there up for grabs at the next election and five in Ballybay-Clones.

The Carrickmacross-Castleblayney area remains unchanged with six Councillors.

No changes are recommended in Cavan, with the three municipal areas, Cavan-Belturbet, Bailieborough-Cootehill and Ballyjamesduff all retaining their six Councillors and existing electoral areas.

You can read the full report HERE.