Breen/Nagle win Rally of the Lakes

The Waterford-Killarney pairing of Craig Breen and Paul Nagle continued their unbeaten run in this year’s Pirelli/EARS Motorsport Irish Tarmac Rally Championship.

The pair added the Killarney International Rally of the Lakes to their previous wins in Galway, Cork and Antrim.

After two tough days on the classic stages of Kerry and Cork, their Fiesta led from start to finish, ending the weekend 15 seconds clear of the similar car of main rivals Alastair Fisher and Gordon Noble, who took runner up position for the third time in four rallies.

Third place, and a first podium result, went to another Fiesta in the hands of former Young Rally Driver of the Year Callum Devine and co-driver Brian Hoy, with Desi Henry and Rob Barrable completing the top five in a pair of Skodas.

The was a high retirement rate among the top seeds, with the casualties including the Moffett brothers, Sam and Josh, Jonny Greer, Manus Kelly and Meirion Evans.

The current Young Driver title holder, James Wilson, had a good drive to tenth place on his debut event in a powerful R5 Hyundai, a big step upwards from his usual Peugeot 208