Brendan Fay elected chair of Cavan-Belturbet Municipal District

Independent Councillor Brendan Fay has been elected chair of the Cavan-Belturbet Municipal District.

The well known publican was first elected at last year’s local elections.

At today’s AGM, Councillor Fay said he was delighted to take up the post and thanked Councillors and Officials for their help since his election.

He replaces Fianna Fáil’s John Paul Feeley.

Fine Gael’s Peter McVitty was elected Leas Cathaoirleach.