More candidates selected in Cavan and Monaghan ahead of local elections

Fine Gael has held its final selection convention for candidates in Cavan and Monaghan ahead of the local elections in May. While Fianna Fail will continue its selection this evening, and the Green Party has put forward its first candidate. Sitting councillors Val Smith and Carmel Brady as well as former councillor John O’Hare were selected to contest the election for Fine Gael in Baileborough-Cootehill. Shirley Hall was proposed to be added to the ticket in the area, and the party executive is expected to approve the fourth candidate.

Sean McKiernan withdrew from last night’s selection, however he’s expected to contest the election for the party in the Cavan-Belturbet area. Meanwhile, Conán Connolly is the first person confirmed to run for the Green Party in the local area. He will run in the Carrickmacross-Castleblayney area on a platform calling for resilience in the face of Brexit, sustainable and affordable housing, and creating a strong and prosperous local community.

In Cavan this evening, Fianna Fail will select its candidates for the Bailieborough-Cootehill area. Councillors Fergal Curtin and Clifford Kelly are nominated, as are PJ Barry, Barry Smith, Aidan Fitzpatrick, Francis McDermott and Martin Breen. The party’s final convention for the Northern Sound region, Cavan-Belturbet is expected to be held in the coming weeks.