Cavan Make Ulster Semi-Final With Antrim Victory

Cavan progressed to an Ulster semi-final with Down or Fermanagh after a sluggish victory over Antrim in Kingspan Breffni.

Antrim had led at half-time by six points to five, but Cavan showed to have more conditioning in the bank as they came back to win 13 points to nine.

Cavan had started well, Oisin Pearson fisting over a point in the opening minute with Oisin Kiernan extending the lead on five minutes.

Dermot McAleese scored Antrim’s first point on seven minutes with a Paddy Cunningham levelling the game with a free on 10 minutes.

Four minutes later Antrim led via Killian Brady with Cavan equalising through Ciaran Brady a minute later

A Conor Murray mark restored Antrim’s one point lead on 16 minutes with Paddy Cunningham putting Antrim two points clear on 25 minutes at five points to three.

Cormac Timoney pulled one back for Cavan with Kevin Quinn sending over Antrim’s sixth point of the first-half three minutes from the break.

Ciaran Brady make it five points to six at the break as Killian Brady collected a black card in first-half injury time.

Killian Clarke brought Cavan Level three minutes into the second-half with an Oisin McKiernan free putting Cavan ahead on 44 minutes.

Thomas Edward Donohoe scored from a mark on 53 minutes as Cavan moved two points clear and Gearoid McKiernan adding one from play on 55 minutes.

Tomás McCann sent over a free for Antrim to make nine points to seven with Gearoid McKiernan making it 10 points to seven for Cavan.

Cavan moved it onto 11 points via a Thomas Donohoe free as Antrim fought back with a Patrick McBride free and a Conor Murray mark with a minute of normal time remaining to make it 11 points to nine.

That was as close as it got for Antrim as another Donhoue free and a McKiernan point sent them through to the semi-final 13 points to nine.

Scorers Cavan: Oisin McKiernan 2f 0-4, Ciaran Brady, Gearoid McKiernan, Thomas Edward Donohoe 1m 1f 0-2 each, Oisin Pearson, Cormac Timoney, Killian Clarke all 0-1

Antrim: Conor Murray 1m, Paddy Cunningham 1f 0-2 each, Dermot McAleese, Killian Brady, Kevin Quinn, Tomas McCann 1f, Patrick McBride 1f all 0-1