Cavan and Monaghan to hold first council meetings since May’s elections

Cavan and Monaghan will both hold the first of their council meetings today following May’s local elections. Both will see changes due to retirement and a loss of some seats.  The first Cavan and Monaghan council meetings since May’s local elections will take place today.
In Cavan there will be 5 new councillors: Brendan Fay, Trevor Smith, Craig Lovett, Aiden Fitzpatrick, and T.P O’Reilly as well as re-elected councillor Patricia Walsh, who lost her seat last time around, all attending the meeting.   This is as a result of Paddy Smith, Paddy O’Reilly, and Fergal Curtain retiring this year and Daniel Downey, Noel Connell, and Damien Brady all failing to retain their seats.  The make-up of the new Cavan County Council sees Fianna Fail with 8 seats, Aontu with 1, Sinn Fein with 1, Independents with 1, and Fine Gael with the remaining 7 seats.
And in Monaghan their first meeting will take place this morning. For the most part the council is largely unchanged however, the retirement of Padraig McNally and Jackie Crowe’s loss of his seat will see Mary Kerr Conlon and Aoife McCooey join the new council. In Monaghan Sinn Fein hold the most seats with 6, Fine Gael hold 5, Fianna Fail 4, and Independents hold 3. As well as discussing the next 5 years, both councils will elect the next Cathaoirleach.