Cavan to be split under new HSE plan

The Health Minister says no one believes the HSE can continue as it is.

It comes as cabinet has approved a major shake up of the structure of the health service that will see it split into six regional health boards.

The idea is to give more power and autonomy to individuals in the health service at a local level.

Health Minister Simon Harris says it’s part of a wider change being brought under Sláintecare:

The majority of Cavan and Monaghan will be included with counties Meath, Louth and north Dublin in the new HSE areas. However, parts of west Cavan will be included in a separate area covering western counties.

Area A, which includes Cavan and Monaghan, is the largest of the new groupings by population. It includes hospitals like Beaumont, Drogheda and the Mater, as well as Cavan General.

Part of west Cavan is in the Area F group along with Donegal, Leitrim, Galway, Roscommon and Mayo.