Cavan Monaghan FP Join National Under-13 League

The SSE Airtricity National Under-13 League structure has been confirmed by the FAI with 24 teams in four regionalised leagues, set to begin in March.

All SSE Airtricity League clubs will operate an Under-13 side and they will be joined by four other non-SSE Airtricity League entities, including Monaghan/Cavan FP.

There will be six teams in the four leagues with the top two teams from each league and the two best-placed third-placed teams set to qualify for the finals stage.

The new National Under-13 League follows the creation of the SSE Airtricity Under-15, Under-17 and Under-19 National Leagues, aiming to strengthen the elite player pathway across the country.

Following an extensive application process, Kildare & District Underage League, Kerry League, Mayo League and Monaghan/Cavan FP have been awarded places in the league.

The fixtures for the SSE Airtricity League national underage leagues will be released on Wednesday, January 30 ahead of the 2019 season.

“I would like to congratulate Kildare & District Underage League, Kerry Schoolboys League, Mayo League and Monaghan/Cavan FP on securing a place in the new SSE Airtricity National under 13 League,” said FAI Competitions Director Fran Gavin.

“The spread of teams across the country is important in making sure all players from across the country have the opportunity to play in our national leagues.

“The continued growth of our national underage structures is exciting for the future of Irish football and we’re looking forward to the start of the season in March.”