Cavan’s Mickey Graham leads Mullinalaghta to Glory

St Columba’s Mullinalaghta created history by becoming the first Longford team to win the Leinster senior title.

Mickey Grahams side defeated Kilmacud Crokes 1-08 to 1-06 in Tullamore.

A Gary Rogers Penalty in the 59th minute put them ahead. Take a listen to that decisive moment here with John Duffy and Liam Tierney on commentary duty for Shannonside FM.

Aidan McElligot added the final point of the game to give the North Longford side a two point win.

Heres John Duffy and Liam Tierney live on Shannonside FM at the final whistle.

The three-in-a-row Longford champions gave underdogs everywhere a dream to cling to with an occasion that will live long in the memory for the 3,510 in Tullamore and the rest of the GAA community.

The sides were tied 1-02 to five points at half-time with Pat Burke scoring the goal for the Dublin champions.

The half-parish then trailed by three points with four minutes to go. David McGivney pointed, Gary Rogers scored the penalty and Aidan McElligot added the final point as Mullinalaghta became kings of Leinster.

Mickey Graham will remain as Mullinalaghta and Cavan manager.

Next up will be an AIB All-Ireland club semi-final clash with Munster champions Dr Crokes on the 16th of February.

Mullinalaghta’s Aidan McElligot spoke with John Duffy after the game.

“the support from every club in the county in the ground helped in the last five minutes”.

listen to his conversation with John here.

Mullinalaghta St Columba’s: Patrick Rogers; Simon Cadam, Patrick Fox, Conan Brady; Donal McElligott (0-01), Shane Mulligan, Francis Mulligan; Aidan McElligott (0-01), John Keegan; Gary Rogers (1-00), James McGivney, Brendan Fox; David McGivney (0-02, 0-01f), Rian Brady (0-04, 0-01f), Jayson Matthews.
Subs: Michael Cunningham for Francis Mulligan (48).