Derry Fire Past Cavan Minors

Derry progressed to the Electric Ireland Ulster Minor football championship relegating Cavan to the backdoor after a 19 points to 12 win in Owenbeg.

Caoimhan McGovern got Cavan off the mark on four minutes which Derry quickly equalised before two Matthew Downey points but Derry ahead.

Caoimhan McGovern and Colin McKiernan restored parity for Cavan before Enda Downey and Matthew Downey restored the Derry lead to points.

Daryl McGurren sent over two points for Cavan on 16 minutes with Derry pushing ahead four minutes later before Jack Tully equalised on 21 minutes.

Derry were rocked  moment later as Jack Tully found the net making it 1-6 to six points for Cavan.

Derry responded with two points from PJ McAleese and Odhran McLarnon with Cavan responding via Daryl McGurren.

Derry Matthew Downey and Cavan’s Oran McMenamin exchanged points as the half-time score was tied at 1-7 to 0-10.

Cavan went clear within three minutes of the restart thanks to points from Matthew McGahern and Peter Smith.

Derry responded with an Enda Downey point, Caolain McCabe restoring Cavan’s two point advantage before Derry let loose and sealed the game victory.

A point from Matthew Downey and two in a row from Marc Dixon followed by another point from Matthew Downey saw Derry lead 0-15 to 1-10 by 44 minutes.

Daryl McGurren cut the lead to one point with 12 minutes remaining but Derry’s Matthew Downey and Jamie Dougan made it a four point game.

Caolain McCabe cut the difference to a goal with a point from play, but it was Cavan final score, four minutes from time as Enda Downey sealed a Derry victory by four points.

Cavan will now play either Donegal or Down in the backdoor round three qualifiers scheduled for the weekend of May 18th.