Dominant Castleblayney Are Monaghan Hurling Champions

Castleblayney won the AM Hurleys Senior Championship following a comprehensive 2-22 to eight points win over Truagh.

The result was never in doubt as the defending champions led by 2-12 to 2 points at the break.

The men in green and gold led by 1-6 to no score after the first water break, the goal arriving courtesy of Fergal Rafter in the tenth minute.

17 minutes later Mark Treanor bagged the second goal of the day helping Castleblayney to a 16 point cushion at the interval.

Truagh were left with too much work to do and while Ryan Boyle and Mattie Flood tagged on a score each in injury time, it was too little too late.

Jimmy Lacey’s team are now champions for a fourth year in succession.