Donegal Knock Cavan Out Of Dr.McKenna Cup

Cavan bowed out of the Dr.McKenna Cup after suffering a 1-20 to 1-12 defeat to Donegal in Ballybofey where David Philips was sent-off.

The eight point defeat saw Donegal win Section A and Cavan miss out on the best runner-up spot as Derry had a better points difference.

Donegal led by four points at half-time 0-10 to 0-6, Conor Madden responding to Michael Langan’s opening score before Cavan went two points clear.

David Philips saw red after just eight minutes from what appeared to be a late challenge. Jamie Brennan extended Donegal’s lead to three points before Pierce Smith, Raymond Galligan and Madden pulled the teams level.

It would be another 15 minutes before Cavan could find a score thanks to Conor Madden, but Donegal had opened a five lead at that stage. Madden’s score leaving it 0-9 to 0-5.

Langan and Paul Graham exchanged points leaving the score at 0-10 to 0-6 at the break.

Paul Brennan and Jamie Brennan extended Donegal’s lead after the break, with Pierce Smith finding Cavan’s first response of the second half.

Smith again and a Raymond Galligan 45 kept Cavan in touch until the 23rd minute when Jamie Brennan’s goal made it 1-16 to 0-9 for Donegal

Cian Mackey’s 26th minute point was Cavan’s last point for 10 minutes as Donegal made use of the 14 men and charged into a 12 point lead.

Second half substitute Kevin Tierney found the net a minute from time with points from Martin Reilly and two from Luke Fortune adding some respectability to the score-line.

However it was Donegal who won out by eight points, 1-20 to 1-12 to win Section A.

Cavan: Raymond Galligan, David Phillips, Padraig Faulkner (Conor Moynagh 15), Jason McLoughlin, Ciaran Brady, Martin Reilly, Conor Rehill, Michael Argue, James Galligan (Niall Clerkin 44), Paul Graham, Stephen Smith (Kevin Tierney 52), Pierce Smith, Conor Bradley, James Smith (Luke Fortune HT), Conor Madden

Scorers: Conor Madden 0-3, Pierce Smith 0-3, Raymond Galligan 0-2 1f 1’45, Martin Reilly 0-2, Kevin Tierney 1-0, Paul Graham, Cian Mackey both 0-1.