Dublin 0-18 Cavan 0-11 in front of Bumper crowd

Cavan marked their opening game in Division 1 of the National football league in front of a 16,231 strong crowd at Kingspan Breffini Park and against the All Ireland champions Dublin. The visitors prevailed by 0-18 to 0-11 after leading by 0-10 to 0-07 at the halftime break. Seanie Johnston was the top scorer for the Breffini County with 0-05 points. Ahead of the eagerly anticipated clash which was delayed by 15 minutes due to the traffic congestion. The GAA president Aogan OFearghail spoke with Northern Sounds Damien Donohue

There was a ferocious pace to the start of the match and they were level at 0-04 apiece after 15 minutes. Then Johnston got his third of the afternoon to put Mattie McGleenans side in the lead.

Dublin woke up to the Cavan threat and scored the next five points from the 21st to the 29th minute. Smith and McDermott for Cavan and Rock for Dublin finished off the scoring of the half and Dublin had a three point advantage. Smith opened up the scoring for Cavan in the second half but Dublin were always comfortable and ran out 0-18 to 0-11 winners. Dublin hitting 12 wides in the process

After the Game Shannonside Northern Sounds Damien Donohue spoke with the Cavan manager Mattie McGlennan who said ‘it was a learning experience and you see now why they were All Ireland champions but I’m delighted with our boys’

Damien also spoke with Cavan player Ciaran Brady who said ‘its as good as a championship match you are going to get and the intensity was great’

Cavan go to Castleblaney for a derby meeting with Monaghan next Sunday.

Cavan: James Farrelly, Fergal Reilly, Padraig Faulkner, Killian Brady, Martin Reilly, Conor Moynagh, John McCutcheon (0-01), Killian Clarke, Rory Dunne, Ciaran Brady, Dara McVeety, Gerard Smith (0-02), Niall Clerkin, Niall McDermott (0-02f), Sean Johnston (0-05, 2f)

Subs: Paul O’Connor for McDermott, Stephen Murray for McCutcheon (both h/t), Gearoid McKiernan for Dunne (42 mins), Conor Madden (0-01) for Moynagh (47), Niall McKiernan for Clerkin (61), Shane O’Rourke for Madden (65)

Dublin: Stephen Cluxton, Michael Fitzsimons, Philip McMahon, Jack McCaffrey, James McCarthy (0-02), John Small, Eric Lowndes, Brian Fenton (0-01), Michael Darragh Macauley (0-01), Ciaran Kilkenny (0-01), Kevin McManamon (0-01), Paul Mannion, Dean Rock (0-08, 6f), Niall Scully (0-02), Jason Whelan (0-01)

Subs: Cormac Costello (0-01f) for McManamon (42 mins), Colm Basquel for Whelan (46), Eoghan O’Gara for Mannion (55), Ciaran Reddin for Macauley (63), Conor McHugh for Rock (69)