Fermanagh Scalp Donegal In Letterkenny Battle

Fermanagh scalped the Ulster champions in Letterkenny to move into second place in division two and remain unbeaten this season.

Fermanagh recording a 13 points to 10 win over Donegal in Letterkenny, Donegal’s Caolan McGonagle seeing red in the first-half for a second yellow card.

Donegal had led eight points to four at the half-time stage but played second fiddle to their visitors after the resumption as Fermanagh took advantage of red card.

Michael Langan had a Donegal free inside two minutes of the restart, but they would not score again until the 56th minute.

Fermanagh came back into the contest with Ciaran Corrigan’s two points and Sean Quigley cut the deficit to two on 50 minutes.

Michael Langan and Aidan Breen exchanged frees before Donegal suffered another blow as Stephen McMenamin was black carded and Sean Quigley pointed a free to leave just a point in it on 59 minutes.

A couple of minutes later Paul McCusker had the side’s level.

With seven minutes remaining, Ciaran Corrigan put Fermanagh ahead and Aidan Breen fisted another after a great run from corner back Jonny Cassidy.

Ultan Kelm to run the length of the pitch to fist another and a three point lead as Fermanagh recorded victory which should see them retain division two status for 2020.

Donegal: McGinley, McMenamin, McCole, E Bán Gallagher, Ward, Doherty, McHugh, McFadden, McGee, O’Donnell, Thompson, McGonagle, Gallen, Langan, Brennan

Subs: Brennan for McGee 51, McHugh for Doherty 56, McLoone for Gallen 62, Mogan for Langan 72

Scorers: Jason McGee (0-2), Niall O’Donnell, Ciaran Thompson (0-1,f), Oisin Gallen (0-1), Michael Langan (0-4 4f), Jamie Brennan (0-1)

Fermanagh: Treacy, Cassidy, Cullen, Connor, Kelm, McMahon, Corrigan, Cullen, Jones, Lyons, McCusker, Breen, Teague, Jones, Quigley

Subs: McDonnell for Teague 32, McCusker for R Lyons 44, McHugh for McDonnell 65, Lyons for Breen 72, Daly for Cassidy 74

Scorers: Ultan Kelm (0-1), Ciaran Corrigan (0-04), Aidan Breen (0-2), Conall Jones (0-1), Sean Quigley (0-4 2f), Paul McCusker (0-1)