Fianna Fáil chooses local election candidates for Ballyjamesduff area

Fianna Fail has chosen its candidates for the Ballyjamesduff MD for May’s local elections.

The party will run the same three candidates as it did in 2014, sitting Councillors Shane P O’Reilly and Philip Brady, along with Craig Lovett. Michael Smollen withdrew his name from the contest at the beginning of the night, and Shirley Byres lost out to Lovett in a members vote for the final position on the ballot.

Speaking to Northern Sound News following the selection, Craig Lovett was confident the party could gain a third seat in the area: