Fianna Fáil to select Monaghan candidate for General Election this evening

Fianna Fáil members will tonight choose their Monaghan candidate for the next General Election.

Three candidates had put their names forward for selection, Seamus Coyle, Mike Durkan and Robbie Gallagher, with Seamus Coyle since withdrawing from the contest.

Robbie Gallagher was elected to the Seanad’s Labour Panel in 2016, with Mike Durkan one of three who ran for Fianna Fáil in that year’s general election.

The convention will be chaired by Fianna Fáil TD for Louth, Declan Breathnach.

A separate convention will be held for Cavan candidates with a date expected to be set in the coming weeks.