Fine Gael Cllr elected Caothairleach of Ballybay-Clones MD after heated argument

Fine Gael Councillor Sean Gilliland was elected Caothairleach of Ballybay-Clones Municipal District after a heated argument over which party should take the final term.

The AGM was adjourned twice in an effort to decide who would succeed Fianna Fail’s Seamus Coyle as chair.

Both Sinn Fein and Fine Gael had proposed members to be elected chair, with Sinn Fein claiming it had been agreed outside of the meeting that they would receive the final position as Cathaoirleach.

When the meeting returned from suspension, Pat Treanor withdrew his proposal of Cathy Bennett, leaving Councillor Gilliland – proposed by Eva Humphreys – unopposed.

Accepting his election, Councillor Gilliland thanked his proposer, his MD colleagues, members of Monaghan County Council administrative division and the previous chair for his work over the year.

Outgoing Monaghan County Council Cathaoirleach Cathy Bennett was elected Leas-Cathaoirleach for the final term of the MD.