Fine Gael and Sinn Féin select Monaghan MD election candidates

Fine Gael and Sinn Féin have chosen their local election candidates for the Monaghan Municipal District. Both parties held conventions last night.

Fine Gael will run three candidates – sitting Councillor David Maxwell, community worker Fiona McCaffrey Jones and Barra Flynn who ran for the party in the 2014 election. Last night’s meeting heard the party would be “very disappointed” not to win at least two of the seven seats in the area.

Meanwhile, Sinn Féin is to run four candidates. Current Monaghan Councillors Brian McKenna and Seán Conlon will run again, along with Ballybay-Clones Councillor Cathy Bennett who’ll contest in this area after boundary changes. Cat Moen will be the fourth candidate for Sinn Féin.