GAA Introduce Tier 2 Football Championship

The All-Ireland Senior Football Championship will have two tiers from next summer.

Three quarters of delegates backed a Central Council motion at Congress to introduce the change for the next three seasons.

Teams in Division Three and Four of the League will play in the new 16 team second tier, unless they reach their provincial final.

A Tipperary motion was carried to determine that Tier Two standings will be determined at the end of the League rather than at the start.