Ireland team to play France named

This afternoon Joe Schimdt named his Ireland team to face France in the opening game of the NatWest Six nations on Saturday afternoon.

Rory Best captains the side and is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong.

Iain Henderson and James Ryan line-out in the second row with Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander filling the backrow positions.

Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton are named at half-back with Bundee Aki and Robbie Henshaw in midfield.

The back three consists of Rob Kearney at fullback with Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

The replacements are Sean Cronin, Jack McGrath, John Ryan, Devin Toner, Dan Leavy, Luke McGrath, Joey Carbery and Fergus McFadden.

Ireland Squad to play France – Stade de France, Saturday 3rd February, 2018

  1. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 78 caps
  2. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 62 caps
  3. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 31 caps
  4. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 2 caps
  5. Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 4 caps
  6. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 68 caps
  7. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 59 caps
  8. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 73 caps
  9. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 106 caps (captain)
  10. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 19 caps
  11. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 34 caps
  12. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps
  13. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 42 caps
  14. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 9 caps
  15. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 18 caps


  1. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 56 caps
  2. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 42 caps
  3. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 11 caps
  4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 53 caps
  5. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps
  6. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps
  7. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 6 caps
  8. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 32 caps

Ireland play France in the Stade de France, Saturday 3rd February, kick off is 5:45pm.