Josh Moffett and Andy Hayes claim National Rally championship title

By taking their sixth win from seven rallies, Monaghan’s Josh Moffett and Andy Hayes from Wexford clinched the Triton Showers National Rally Championship, bringing their Fiesta to a 37 second victory in yesterday’s penultimate round of the series, the Lady Gregory Hotel Galway Summer Rally.

Once again, Moffett and Hayes led from start to finish, with recently crowned National Forestry champion Cathan McCourt from Tyrone teaming up with new co-driver Grace O’Brien from Mallow to take a surprise runner up position in another Fiesta.

Former National title holders Roy White and James O’Brien were the only possible challengers to Moffett and Hayes’ hopes of taking the Triton series for the first time, but they were sidelined on the opening stage with transmission problems, leaving the winning pair to cruise home to their latest triumph.

Ian Barrett and Paul McGee claimed third place in their Impreza, followed by the Escort of two wheel drive class winners Gary Kiernan and Ryan Moore, with Hugh Hunter and Rob Fagg the best of the British visitors in their Focus.