Josh Moffett annouced as Billy Coleman award winner for 2016


The Billy Coleman Award for the Young Rally Driver of the Year has been won by 24-year-old Josh Moffett, from Monaghan, who narrowly beat runners up Gary McNamee (Oldcastle, Co Meath) and Callum Devine (Claudy Co Derry) to the title.


Josh, from Monaghan, was nominated for the prestigious award on the back of some great results this year. He had some excellent performances in the Irish Tarmac Championship, and secured his first International win at the Cork 20 Rally.


As part of the award, Josh will receive support to the value of €50,000 for the 2017 season.


The Sexton Trophy for Young Racing Driver of the Year has been awarded to 22year old Cian Carey, from Ratoath Co Meath, ahead of two other finalists, 16-year-old Jordan Dempsey (Mullingar Co Westmeath), and 23 year old Andy O’Brien (Templeogue Dublin).


Cian won the Boss Ireland Championship this year despite competing on occasion against far superior race cars. He secured a remarkable five outright wins, three second places and four thirds on his way to being crowned champion. Cian intends to compete in the British Formula 3 Cup next year and has already tested the new car in Silverstone at the Walter Hayes Trophy where he secured a pole position and second place finish in his first outing.


The Manley Memorial Trophy for the International Driver of the Year went to Craig Breen, from Co Waterford, after he became the first driver from the Republic of Ireland to secure a works drive with Citroen in the World Rally Championship.