The GAA Season continued at Club and Inter Provincial level over the weekend.


In Longford there was further  joy for St.Columbas Mullinalaghta as the claimed the Leader Cup after an extra time victory over Clonguish in Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on a socreline of 1-15 to 0-15.

The win sees Mullinlaghta claim a historic double after winning the County Championship back in October.


In Leitrim the All county Football league Division one final will be contested between Mohill and Aughawillan on Sunday next at 2 p.m. in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Mohill secured their place in the final following a 3-9 to 1-9 semi final replay victory over Ballinamore Sean O’ Helsins yesterday in Ballinamore.


Three goals at the start of the second half, two which were scored by Keith Beirne and one from Keith Keegan eventually proved to be the difference between the sides.   


In Cavan Cooethill Celtic were crowned minor hurling champions following a 4-17 to 1-3 victory over St Feilim’s while Kingscourt won the Junior B Reserve Football championship following a 1-11 to 1-7 triumph over Cuchulainns.




The Cavan County Convention will take place next Thursday 15th December 7pm.    


There is just one officer change. Gary Robins (Laragh Utd) is vacating the role of Assistant Secretary due to the five year rule. 


The position will be taken up by Angela Hamilton (Shercock) who was the fixtures secretary on CCC.  


The Leitrim GAA Convention will take place tonight in the Bush Hotel at 7.30.  As of yet there is no obvious replacement for Brian Gordon who will step down as County Board Treasurer.


The Longford GAA convention will take place on Thursday while the Roscommon Convention will be staged twenty four hours later on Friday evening.



Meanwhile In the interprovincial Football series, Connacht will meet Ulster in this year’s final.

A late goal by Sligo’s Niall Murphy was the decisive score that helped the Western Province to a 2-17 to 1-18 victory over Leinster.


A strong Roscommon representative on the Connacht interprovincial team was seen with no fewer than 8 players helping Connacht to 2 point win over Leinster.

Niall McInerney at Full Back, Niall Daly at Wing Back, Enda Smith in Midfield as well as Fintan Cregg and Ciaran Murtagh in the Half Forward line all started for the Western Province.

Sean Mulloly, Diarmuid Murtagh, John McManus as well as Leitrim star Emlyn Mulligan all came off the bench to make a contribution to the win.  Longford Paddy’s Column came off the bench to play for Leinster.


 While for Ulster, it was Tyrone’s Peter Harte who helped Pete McGrath’s side claim victory over Munster.

Harte score 1-08 of Ulster 3-17 in their 11 point win.


Cavan duo Killian Clarke and Conor Moynagh were Cavan’s only representatives on the team started.


In the hurling tournament, Seamus Callanan inspired Munster to a comfortable win over Ulster while the other semi-final resulted in Leinster coming out on top by two points against Connacht.