Mayo team named to play Cavan


Mayo have named their team for Sunday’s Allianz Football League Division One, encounter with Cavan in MacHale Park, Castlebar. The Mayo manager Stephen Rochford has made four changes from their last outing which was a disappointing defeat against Dublin two weeks ago. 2016 All-Star Brendan Harrison will make his first start of the campaign. The Aghamore club man has been restricted to only a few substitute appearances this year due to injury. The three other players to come into the team are Danny Kirby (midfield), Conor O’Shea (wing forward) and Conor Loftus (corner forward). The four players to make way are Stephen Coen, Diarmuid O’Connor, Evan Regan and Jason Gibbons.

Sunday’s game will represent a landmark occasion for Donal Vaughan. He will make his 90th appearance for the County having made his Inter-County debut back in 2009.

Much of Cavan’s attention will focus on Cillian O’Connor. The twice former Young Player of the Year has been in top form in the league to date, scoring 1-22.

This will be the first meeting between Mayo and Cavan for 10 years. Their last meeting was an All-Ireland Qualifier Round 1 which Mayo won 1-19 to 3-7. Andy Moran is the only player named on the starting team for Sunday that survives from that 2007 clash. Barry Moran, who is among the substitutes for Mayo on Sunday, also featured that day. The last league meeting was in 2003. Cavan came out on top on that occasion 1-10 to 0-11


There will be live coverage on the match tomorrow afternoon on Sunday Sport.

Mayo team to play Cavan in NFL Division 1 Round 5:  David Clarke; Brendan Harrison, Keith Higgins, Paddy Durcan; Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Donal Vaughan; Tom Parsons, Danny Kirby; Fergal Boland, Cillian O’Connor, Conor O’Shea; Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, Conor Loftus