McCarthy Confirms Squad for Gibraltar & Georgia

Republic of Ireland manager Mick McCarthy has selected a 23-man squad for the EURO 2020 Qualifiers against Gibraltar and Georgia.

Luton Town striker James Collins makes the cut for his first senior call-up as does Ronan Curtis who is doubtful having injured his thumb in a freak accident during the week.

Having initially named a provisional panel, McCarthy has whittled down the roster ahead of the players meeting up on Sunday, March 17 for the ‘3’ FAI International Awards.

The squad will begin preparations for their opening Group D games on Monday, March 18 at FAI National Training Centre.

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Mark Travers (Bournemouth)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Richard Keogh (Derby County), John Egan (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), James Collins (Luton Town)

*Indicates player is on loan