Monaghan under 21 team suffer shamrock cup defeat

The Monaghan under 21 football team failed to build on their good start against Derry last weekend when they were defeated by a sharper Louth side in an entertaining contest that was played in cold and somewhat wet conditions in Darver on yesterday evening (Friday).

Louth enjoyed the perfect start and quickly established a 4 points lead after 11 minutes before Monaghan opened their account through Fergal Hanratty.

Monaghan came more into game as it advanced and although they found it difficult to penetrate a well the Louth defence they were on top in a number of sectors of the field.

After twenty six minutes the Farney County had fought back to restore parity at 0-5 apiece. Monaghan took the lead for the only time in the game a minute into stoppage time with a point from a free by Mickey Tierney but by the time half time arrived Louth had levelled through Aaron O’Brien to leave the half-time score Louth 0-6, Monaghan 0-6.

Missed chances was the order of the day in the opening 10 minutes of the new period before the home side took a 2 points lead and Monaghan failed to close that gap at any stage in the second-half.

One of the big problems for Monaghan last night was that they lost possession on too many occasions. The accuracy of Tadgh McEnaney, who finished top scorer with 7 points for Louth was a real boost for the Leinster side.

Teams and Scorers: Louth: Sean Hayes, Conor Clarke, Adam Shiels, Niall Sharkey, Dean Maguire, Matthew Corcoran, John Clutterbuck 0-1, Conor Earley 0-1, Cathal Grogan, Darragh Hamill, Aaron O’Brien 0-1, Ciaran Downey 0-2, Tadgh McEnaney 0-7 (3f), Ryan Ward, Glenn Matthews 0-1. Subs: Eoin McDaid for D Maguire, Paddy O’Hanlon for J clutter book, Jordan Donaghy for C Clarke, Sean Murray for R Ward, Paul McArdle for S Hayes, Ciaran Callan for A O’Brien.

Monaghan: Shane Garland, James Daly, Colm Lennon, Sean McMahon, Shane Woods 0-1, Barry Kerr, Dermot Gleeson, Jamie Walsh, Padraig Finnan 0-1, Stephen McCabe, Fergal Hanratty 0-1, Jason McDonald 0-1, Conor Leonard, Mickey Tierney 0-1 (f), Francis Maguire 0-2 (1f). Subs: James Wilson 0-2 (1f) for C Leonard, Adam O’Driscoll 0-1 for M Tierney, Brendan Boylan for P FinNan, Damien Ward for F Maguire, Conor Lynch for J McDonald. Referee:  Kevin Falloon (Armagh).