Monaghan Face Armagh For Ulster Ladies Final Place

Armagh and Monaghan will battle it out for place in the TG4 Ulster Senior final, when they lock horns at the Athletic Grounds 7pm on Sunday.

Monaghan’s last competitive outing was their Division 1 Round seven clash in the Lidl National League on April seventh, when they drew with Mayo.

Manager Niall Treanor has made two changes to the side that started in that game, with Brídín Tierney coming in between the sticks.

Chloe McBride started in goal against Mayo but is named outfield for the Armagh tie, while Hannah McSkane also earns a start.

Dropping out of the team from the Mayo fixture are Lisa Flynn and Leanne Maguire.

Armagh’s last competitive game was on April 20, when they lost to Kerry in the Lidl NFL Division 2 semi-final.

There are three changes from that game, with experienced midfielder Caroline O’Hanlon returning to the side after a glorious netball season with Manchester Thunder.

Blaithin Mackin is also included while Captain Caoimhe Morgan is back to anchor the full-back line.

The aforementioned trio replace Niamh Marley, Niamh Murphy and Shauna Grey, who all started in the Kerry game.

The curtain-raiser to the senior tie between Armagh and Monaghan is the TG4 Ulster Junior semi-final clash between Antrim and Fermanagh (5pm), which is a repeat of the Lidl NFL Division 4 Final.

With Eimear Smyth in blistering form, Fermanagh ran out winners on that occasion but they’ve made five changes to the starting line-up that triumphed at St Tiernach’s Park.

Cleona Bogue comes in for goalkeeper Roisin Gleeson, while there are also outfield starts for Aisling Maguire, Aine McGovern, Aisling Woods and Noelle Connolly, who replace Maria Maguire, Courtney Murphy, captain Joanne Doonan, who’s nursing an injury, and Blaithin Bogue.

There are two changes on the Antrim team, with Nicole Jones and Niamh Enright drafted into the attack in place of Cathy Carey and Sara Louise McLaughlin.

Monaghan: B Tierney, N Kerr, S Boyd, C Treanor, A McAnespie, H McSkane, S Coyle, A McCarey, E McAnespie, R Courtney, C Courtney, C McBride, E Woods, M Atkinson, C McAnespie

Armagh: C O’Hare, S Marley, C Morgan, R O’Reilly, C McKenna, C McCambridge, T Grimes, N Coleman, C O’Hanlon, M Moriarty, A McCoy, K Mallon, A Donaldson, B Mackin, N Reel