Monaghan Fall To Galway Defeat

Monaghan fell to a disappointing defeat to Galway in Inniskeen, having failed to every really get going, as they lost out 1-9 to 0-11.

Galway were very defensive in the opening half, but Monaghan failed to but any real daylight between the teams, and fell to a successive defeat.

Jack McCarron opened the scoring with a third minute free to give his side the early advantage. Monaghan stretched their advantage to three points after further place ball efforts from Conor McManus and Jack McCarron.

Jonathan Duane opened Galway’s scoring after 20 minutes, but there would not be another score until the 28th minute, much to the frustration of those in attendance.

Vinny Corey registered his side’s fourth score with a well-taken point but it was all Galway from this juncture.

Shane Walsh scored two points for Galway to reduce the deficit to a single score, but Darren Hughes replied for Monaghan with a great score after a counter attack.

Shane Walsh added the final score of the half, as his side trailed by 0-5 to 0-4 at the interval.

Walsh and McManus traded scores at the start of the second half, but three successive scores put the Tribesmen into the lead for the first time. A 60th minute goal from Johnny Heaney after a short free gave Galway a 1-9 to 0-7 lead with ten minutes to play.

Galway did not score again though as Monaghan came back with four points of their own, but it was to no avail as Kevin Walsh’s side held on for a one point win.

Monaghan: Rory Beggan, Kieran Duffy (David Garland 61), Drew Wylie, Ryan Wylie, Vinny Corey, Barry Kerr, Colin Walshe, Darren Hughes, Fintan Kelly (Dessie Mone 53), Ryan McAnespie (Owen Duffy 58), Jack McCarron (Conor McCarthy 41), Shane Carey, Dermot Malone, Dessie Ward, Conor McManus

Scorers: Conor McManus (0-4, 3f), J. McCarron (2f), Rory Beggan (2f), Darren Hughes (0-2), Vinny Corey (0-1).

Galway: Ruairi Lavelle, Eoghan Kerin, Sean Kelly, David Wynne, Gary O’Donnell, Gareth Bradshaw, John Daly, Thomas Flynn, Kieran Duggan, Johnny Heaney, Jonathan Duane (Barry McHugh 60), Peter Cooke (Michael Daly 58), Antoine O Laoi (Cein Darcy 70), Padraig Cunningham (Danny Cummins 58), Shane Walsh

Scorers: Shane Walsh (0-05, 3f), Johnny Heaney (1-0), Jonathan Duane, Antoine O Laoi, Padraig Cunningham, Michael Daly All 0-1

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath).