Monaghan Minor Campaign Comes To An End

Monaghan bowed out of the All-Ireland minor football championship after a 3-19 to 2-10 defeat to Cork in Tullamore.

Cork led though out the game with Monaghan constantly reigning in the rebels only for Cork to lead 2-8 to eight points at half-time.

Cork lead four points to three by 14 minutes, Patrick Campbell, Michael O’Neill with two including a free and Darragh Cashman all getting Cork scores.

Diamuird Marron and two Darragh Dempsey points were the Monaghan scores with Jason Irwin equalising on 14 minutes.

Conor Corbett and Eoin Duffy exchanged scores followed by Patrick Campbell and Jason Irwin with Michael O’Neill free’s restoring Corks lead.

Four minutes before the break came Cork two devise goals thanks to Michael O’Neill on 26 minutes and Conor Corbettt a minute later, Patrick Campbell’s point making it 2-8 to six points.

Monaghan’s Jason Irwin and Darragh Dempsey as Cork led 2-8 to eight points at half-time.

Cork picked up where they left off the break Keelan Scannell and Daniel Linehan both sending over points to lead 2-10 to eight points.

Monaghan got back into on 35 minutes as Liam McDonald converted a penalty, Cork responding with points form Daniel Linehan and Patrick Campbell.

A second penalty on 47 minutes converted by Liam McDonald and a Darragh Dempsey point kept Monaghan alive.

But points from Ryan O’Donovan, Adam Walsh Murphy, Patrick Campbell moved Cork out to a 2-15 to 2-9 lead.

Aidan Brennan’s point for Monaghan a minute from time was their last score. Ryan O’Donovan two points, Patrick Campbell goal and two Conor Corbett points sealed the victory.