Monaghan named team for trip to Kerry

Monaghan have named an unchanged team for Sunday’s game vs Kerry. Malachy O’Rourke have kept faith with the same 15 players that took to the field against Cavan for the trip to Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney.

Monaghan will be delighted that Conor McCarthy gave threw the Sigerson Cup with no injury concerns. The Scotstown men played the full 60 minutes in both the Semi-Final and Final for UCD last weekend. There wasn’t such good news for Barry McGinn. McGinn, who also lined for UCD last weekend, suffered a cruciate knee injury last weekend ruling him out for the rest of the season, including the upcoming U-21 Championship.

All Kerry eyes will be on stopping Conor McManus. The Clontibret sharp shooter has scored 0-10 in Monaghan opening two games.

Monaghan are hoping to make two wins in a row on Kerry soil after coming away with victory on their last visit in 2015.

The Monaghan team to play Kerry Sunday: Rory Beggan; Fintan Kelly, Drew Wylie, Ryan Wylie; Kieran Duffy, Neil McAdam, Colin Walshe; Darren Hughes, Kieran Hughes; Karl O’Connell, Shane Carey, Gavin Doogan; Conor McCarthy, Thomas Kerr, Conor McManus.

Subs: Conor Forde, James Mealiff, Owen Coyle, Karl McQuaid, Ryan McAnespie, Niall Kearns, Dermot Malone, Owen Duffy, Stephen Gollogly, Jack McCarron, David McAllister.


Kerry haven’t named their team but are waiting to hear back from the Central Hearing Committee to see if their appeals for Peter Crowley and Donnachadh Walsh have been successful. The pair were involved in a brawl in Kerry’s last outing vs Mayo. As it stands at the moment both players are ruled out of Sunday’s. Kerry will be hoping for the return of Darren O’Sullivan after he helped Glencar-Glenbeigh to the All-Ireland Junior Club Football title last weekend.