Monaghan Secure Ulster Minor Title

Monaghan were retained their crowned Ulster Minor Football title for a second consecutive season as they overcame Tyrone 1-13 to 1-11.

Michael Hamill 42nd minute goal proved the difference as they went ahead 1-11 to 1-10 with Tyrone only able to register a further point.

Tyrone led by a point at half-time nine points to eight. Luke Donnelly was first on target for Tyrone and he was assisted by Mark Devlin as Tyrone built up a 0-5 to 0-2 lead.

Monaghan raced back into the contest, scoring five in a row to lead by two with Darragh Dempsey, Jason Irwin and Diarmuid Marron registering points.

Tyrone’s Mark Devlin and Luke Donnelly brought the sides level before Dempsey gave Monaghan a lead at the break.

Michael McGleenan hit the net scoring from the throw-in and Sean O’Donnell points Tyrone a three point lead.

Man of the match Monaghan’s Karl Gallagher and Jason Irwin found points before Hamill scored the crucial goal as Monaghan secured their third Ulster title since 2013.