Monaghan are the Ulster Minor football champions 2018

Monaghan 1-09

Derry 0-09

A Donnach Swinburne penalty eight minutes from time secured Monaghan, the Electric Ireland Ulster Minor title and the Fr. Murray cup

Here’s the goal as described live on Northern Sound FM by Sean McCaffrey and Tommy Freeman.



Seamus McEnaeney’s side edged out the epic tussle in the Athletic Grounds, in front of 2,876 spectators avenging their opening round defeat to Derry.

Derry took a six point to five lead into the break, and the sides were level before Swinburne’s penalty gave Monaghan a three point cushion.

Derry fought back, and Monaghan keeper Ryan Farrelly pulled off a tremendous save with three minutes to go seeing Monaghan hold on for the win.


Seamus McEneaney the winning manager spoke to Sean McCaffrey after the game

Captain Brendan Duffy caught up with Sean McCaffrey after the game

Sean McCaffrey talked with man of the match Aaron Mulligan  after the game