No Europa League Football For Waterford

Waterford have not been awarded a UEFA license to compete in Europe this season, meaning they cannot par-take in next seasons Europa League.

The Independent Club Licensing Committee of the Football Association of Ireland met on April 24 and awarded UEFA Licences to four SSE Airtricity League clubs for the 2019-20 UEFA Club competition season.

Dundalk FC, Cork City FC, Shamrock Rovers FC and St Patrick’s Athletic FC have all been awarded Licences.

Dundalk will enter the Champions League qualifying round as SSE Airtricity League champions.

Waterford had finished fourth and qualified in a Europa League position. However their entry has been awarded to St Patricks Athletic who finished fifth.

A club must be in existence for three-years to compete in Europe, but the Blues’ management company wasn’t formed until late 2016.

Waterford FC owner Lee Power last week released a statement claiming the club had been ‘totally misled by the FAI’.

Power warned that the decision will have a serious financial impact on the future of Waterford FC and claims the club were given assurances by the FAI throughout a five-month process.

The Waterford chairman also said he would seek compensation from the FAI.

He’s called for an investigation into the FAI’s handling of the affair and confirmed that Waterford will appeal UEFA’s decision.