Sherlock and Sherry keep it Clean

Oisin Sherlock & Aiden Sherry took overall victory on last weekend’s Navigation Trial based out of Tydavnet Community Centre. The local pairing were the only crew to negotiate the 85-mile route without dropping a penalty. This was their first event win having been steadily climbing the navigation ranks over the past four years.

David McCrudden took on the mantle of COC for the first time. The event was the first navigation event of the season but was the final round of the 2019 Traders and Club Navigation Championships. An entry of 23 crews made the start with the crews traversing the North Monaghan countryside visiting the Ballinode, Scotstown, Knockatallon, Bragan, Emyvale and Tydavnet areas. The opening section featured a plot & bash timepoint at McAree Engineering in Ballinode, with former National Champions, Pakie Duffy & Evin Hughes, incurring a wrong approach here. Another plot & bash timepoint near Knockatallon, saw top seeds Derek Mackarel & Conor Boylan dropping time.

By the halfway mark, the Semi-Expert pairing of Emmet McCooey/Christopher McMahon were leading from four Expert crews with all on clean sheets. Aiden Sherry/Oisin Sherlock, Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan, Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin and Josh Moffett/Stephen Thornton were all in contention.

The event headed into some popular lanes on the foothills of Bragan Mountain before moving back towards Tydavnet. By TP27, the top five leading crews were still all on clean sheets but all was to change on the tricky plot & bash section on tulip diagram near Ballinode which concluded the event. McCooey/McMahon missed TP28 followed by a wrong approach at Via4. Most of the crews lost time finding Via4 and dropped time at TP29. Moffett/Thornton got a wrong approach at TP29 ending their hopes of victory while Michael & Ciaran Tynan dropped two penalties. The penultimate Control would decide the winner as Tynan/Clerkin dropped 1 penalty leaving Sherry/Sherlock as the only crew clean at the end of the night.


So it was Aiden Sherry & Oisin Sherlock who took overall honours on their home event with a perfect clean sheet after 85 miles of driving. It was their first event win after several seasons ascending the navigation ranks including winning the Novice & Semi-Expert classes. Martin Tynan & Fintan Clerkin finished 2nd with Michael & Ciaran Tynan in 3rd. Michael & Ciaran also secured the Gary Nesbitt Club Navigation Championship and Ciaran is the 2019 Trader’s Overall Club Champion.

Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes finished in 4th with their early wrong approach penalty their only penalties dropped. Novice class winners Emmet Sherry & Patrick Corcoran were a fine 5th overall on 20 penalties in their Starlet with Josh Moffett/Stephen Thornton 6th in their Corsa. Eoghan Corr/Ruaidhri Nash made a return to the sport and secured the Semi-Expert class. Aiden Keenan/Sean Marron impressed to take the win in the Beginners class as well as 9th overall on just 39 penalties.

The event proved to be a success with the event favouring Beginner and Novice crews whilst having enoug challenges to catch the more experienced crews. COC David McCrudden paid tribute to his organising team, all the marshals and timekeepers, Tydavnet community centre and all the landowners and residents along the route for their support of the event.


The National Navigation Championship is set to commence on Saturday 12th October in Cork whilst the local season continues with the Drumlin Navigation Trial on November 9th.
1st Aiden Sherry/Oisin Sherlock (Subaru Impreza) 0 marks,
2nd Martin Tynan/Fintan Clerkin (Subaru Impreza) 1m,
3rd Michael Tynan/Ciaran Tynan (Subaru Impreza) 4m,
4th Pakie Duffy/Evin Hughes (Subaru Impreza) 15m,
5th Emmet Sherry/Patrick Corcoran (Toyota Starlet) 20m,
6th Josh Moffett/Stephen Thornton (Opel Corsa) 20m,
7th Derek Mackarel/Conor Boylan (Subaru Impreza) 22m,
8th Francis McElvaney/Danny McKenna (Subaru Impreza) 30m,
9th Aiden Keenan/Sean Marron (Subaru Impreza) 39m,
10th Eoghan Corr/Ruaidhri Nash (Subaru Impreza) 43m