There’s a sense of shock locally following a shake-up of the voting districts

There’s a sense of shock locally following a shake-up of the voting districts.

The Ballybay-Clones Municipal District is to lose a Councillor at the next local elections.

The Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee’s report recommends changes to Monaghan’s voting districts, with no changes planned for Cavan.

The report examines all local election boundaries and recommends changes based on the most recent census results.
The number of Councillors in Cavan and Monaghan will remain at 18 each at next year’s election.
In Monaghan, all Municipal Districts currently have six Councillors.
However, the report recommends the Ballybay-Clones MD loses a Councillor, with the Sheskin and Scotstown electoral divisions moving to the Monaghan MD.
Councillor Seamus Coyle from the Ballybay-Clones district says that there there’s a sense of disbelief.

The move also sees the Monaghan area gain a Councillor, with seven seats there up for grabs at the next election and five in Ballybay-Clones.
The Carrickmacross-Castleblayney area remains unchanged with six Councillors.
No changes are recommended in Cavan, with the three municipal areas, Cavan-Belturbet, Bailieborough-Cootehill and Ballyjamesduff all retaining their six Councillors and existing electoral areas.
Councillor Shane P O’Reilly says that people would hate to see a change to their local authorities.