Ulster Name Team For Munster Derby

Ulster have made three changes to their starting XV for Friday’s inter-pro clash with Munster.

Two of the new faces come in the pack, with Rob Herring starting at hooker and taking over the captaincy, and lock Ian Nagle returning from injury to make his first start for the Province.

Eric O’Sullivan and Marty Moore will join Herring in the front row, while Kieran Treadwell will pack down beside Nagle in the second row. The loose forward combination of Sean Reidy, Jordi Murphy and Marcell Coetzee is unchanged.

Abbey Insurance Academy winger Robert Baloucoune comes into the backline and will line out in the back three alongside the experienced Louis Ludik and Henry Speight.

The half-back axis of John Cooney and Billy Burns is retained along with the midfield pairing of Stuart McCloskey and Will Addison.

Rory Best, Kyle McCall and Ross Kane will are named as the front row replacements, while Clive Ross and Nick Timoney provide additional forward cover. Academy back James Hume is recalled to the match day squad, with Dave Shanahan and Johnny McPhillips also included.

Ulster: L Ludik, H Speight, W Addison, S McCloskey, R Baloucoune, B Burns, J Cooney, E O’Sullivan, R Herring (captain), M Moore, I Nagle, K Treadwell, S Reidy, J Murphy, M Coetzee,

Replacements: R Best, K McCall, R Kane, C Ross, N Timoney, D Shanahan, J McPhillips, J Hume.

Ulster v Munster

Guinness PRO14

Kingspan Stadium

Friday 21st December, kick-off 7:35pm