Luke "Ming" Flanagan tops Midlands Northwest poll

Jun 10, 2024 23:27 By Eoghan Murphy
Luke "Ming" Flanagan tops Midlands Northwest poll
Share this article

Flanagan recieved 78,214 votes

Castlerea man Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan has topped the poll in the Midlands Northwest constituency in the European elections.

The sitting MEP received 78,214 votes, some way short of the quota of 113,325. However, it seems certain he will be re-elected in the coming days.

Another Shannonside candidate, Ciaran Mullooly, is in strong contention for the fifth seat in the 15-county constituency.


The Independent Ireland man got 57,297 first preference votes. After poll-topping Ming, Barry Cowen (Fianna Fáil) is in second place, with 73,908.

Fine Gael is currently in line to take two seats, with Nina Carberry in third after the first count, with 73,888, and Maria Walsh in fourth, on 71,476.

She is followed by Ballyleague/Lanesboro man Mullooly, who has a lead of almost 11,500 votes over Sinn Fein’s Michelle Gildernew, who has 45,807.


She is closely followed by Lisa Chambers (Fianna Fáil), on 44,069. Whereas, Aontu leader Peadar Toibin is in seventh, with 40,742.

The second count will involve the distribution of three candidate’s votes; Daniel Pocock (Independent), Charlotte Keenan (Independent) and Stephen Garland (Independent). However, their combined total is only 2,705 votes.

It is likely to be several more counts before anyone is elected.


The full details of the first count:

Total electorate: 1,318,190

Total poll: 700,700


Spoiled: 20,754

Total valid poll: 679,946

Quota: 113,325


Justin Barrett (National Party) – 4,086

Niall Blaney (Fianna Fáil) – 30,387

Anthony Cahill (The Irish People) – 4,535

Nina Carberry (Fine Gael) – 73,888

Peter Casey (Independent) – 21,102

Lisa Chambers (Fianna Fáil) – 44,069

Barry Cowen (Fianna Fáil) – 73,908

Luke 'Ming' Flanagan (Independent) – 78,214

Stephen Garland (Independent) – 1,079

Michelle Gildernew (Sinn Féin) – 45,807

Rory Hearne (Social Democrats) – 15,023

Charlotte Keenan (Independent) – 1,102

Hermann Kelly (Irish Freedom Party) -  13,904

Fergal Landy (Labour) – 6,970

Chris MacManus (Sinn Féin) – 29,427

Margaret Maguire (Ireland First) – 3,117

Saoirse McHugh (Independent) – 18,976

Ciaran Mullooly (Independent Ireland) – 57,297

Brian O’Boyle (PBP-SOL) – 3,982

Pauline O’Reilly (Green Party) – 13,710

Daniel Pocock (Independent) – 524

James Reynolds (National Party) – 3,201

Michelle Smith (Independent) – 6,713

Peadar Tóibín (Aontú) – 40,742

Maria Walsh (Fine Gael) – 71,476

Gerry Waters (Independent) - 3015

John Waters (Independent) -13,692

Tags used in this article
Share this article

NorthernSound Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2024 Northern Sound FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus