New Cathaoirligh elected in Co Cavan

Jun 13, 2022 17:06 By News Northern Sound
New Cathaoirligh elected in Co Cavan New Cathaoirligh elected in Co Cavan
Share this article

John Paul Feeley has been elected Cathaoirleach of the County Council, with Shane P O'Reilly becoming Chair of the Ballyjamesduff MD.

New Cathaoirligh have been elected in Co Cavan.

Councillor John Paul Feeley has been elected at the new Cathaoirleach of Cavan County Council, taking over from out-going Chair, Cllr Clifford Kelly.

The election took place place at Cavan's Annual Meeting this evening.


Patricia Walsh has been named as Leas-Cathaoirleach of the Local Authority, taking over from Craig Lovett.

Meanwhile, Shane P O'Reilly was elected as the new Cathaoirleach of the Ballyjamesduff MD this afternoon, taking over from Trevor Smith, who seconded Councillor O'Reilly's nomination.

With the votes tied between Councillor O'Reilly and Councillor Phillip Brady, the winner had to be drawn from a hat.


Cllr Shane P O'Reilly was the victor and told Northern Sound that he was delighted with this stroke of good luck.

Share this article

NorthernSound Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.