Cavan camogie round-up

Mar 20, 2023 13:40 By Dave Hooper
Cavan camogie round-up
Cavan v Mayo minors. Left to right: Molly Tunney, Ruby Lambertt, Kevin O'Donnell and Sinead Livingstone.
Share this article

Cavan camogie round-up

Cavan lost out to Meath in Moylagh by one point on Saturday past for their postponed round 4 fixture against Meath.

Cavan originally had home advantage for this fixture, reversed the fixture as there was no pitches available.

Meath opened the game with a score from play coming in the opening minutes of this tight knit clash. Laragh’s Clodagh Keenaghan continued her scoring rate in this league, with Cavan’s first point of the game with her signature free taking skills.


Cavan worked well as a unit with Emer Fitzpatrick and Hannah Fitzsimons finding themselves within their scoring rage, unfortunately Cavan would record their final score of the first-half in the 11th minute.

Meath forwards put Cavan’s defence under immense pressure. Aoife Migogue, Nadine Doyle and Cliodhna tallied seven points together before the break. Meath leading eight points to three at half-time.

Cavan were hoping the second half would turn out to be more promising with an inspiring goal coming from Christina O’Reilly within the first few seconds the restart.


Cavan worked harder in this half holding Meath off from an opportunity of getting scores on the board.

Roisin O’keeffe, Hannah Fitzsimons and Christina O’Reilly all made their presence felt in this half as they got their names onto the score sheet.

Meath managed to knock over points to keep themselves above water. Late into the half Shanise Fitzsimons looked to get her team over the line in this fixture settling for a point from play in the 25th minute.


Cavan coming out with a one point defeat to the royal county, 11 points to 1-7. Cavan now face Westmeath in the final round of the ‘Very’ Divsion 2A League.

Minor Championship

Cavan minor Camogs scored a six point victory over Mayo at a wet and windy Joe Crowe Park on Sunday.


It was a super energetic and physical Mayo that opened the scoring. A converted free from midfielder Méabh Tunny.

Crosserlough’s Fiona Finnegan who was in charge of Cavan’s frees for the day would get her name on the score sheet. Both teams would struggle throughout this fixture to get scores with many opportunities dropping into the safe hands of either keeper.

Fiona Finnegan pointed two more scores for Cavan from frees before the break. A loopy ball sent in from midfield landed near perfect to Aoife Sexton. Sexton only had goal on the mind, sending it straight past Mayo keeper Sarah Dee.


This goal came at the perfect time for Cavan giving them a comfort blanket just before the break, making it Cavan 1-3 to Mayo’s 0-3.

As both team returned to the field the rain continued to pour down and the physicality of this clash heated up with both sides seeing players picking up yellow cards.

Cavan who are under management of Freddie Williams felt this was a good chance to bring in fresh legs with Alannah McPhillips replacing Charlie Norris and Hannah Murray replacing Caoimhe Clarke.

Both sides struggled to get any scores until the 20th minute of this clash. Mayo’s Méabh Tunney firing over; this would be Mayo’s only score of the half. Cavan’s defence which is made up of five different clubs gelled well together to keep Mayo out.

After a dropped ball into the Mayo square a scramble between players occurred with Denn’s Emma Maher getting the final touch hitting the back of the net.

Throughout this half there was huge display of skill coming from all players but Castletara’s Ellie Brady was a work house for Cavan in the midfield mopping up ball sending it into the forwards giving Cavan every opportunity to seal the deal on this championship clash.

Fiona Finnegan got her final score of the game with her skilful free taking getting Cavan one more point on the score sheet. Cavan winning out 2-4 to four points.

Cavan will travel to Down on Sunday 26th for their round 3 fixture.

Cavan: Alannah Clarke, Ciara Lynch, Ciara Reilly, Niamh Shalvey, Ailbhe McInerney, Eabha Slowey, Katie Tierney, Ellie Brady, Fiona Finnegan(0-04F), Emma Maher(1-00), Ellen Smith Sinead Livingstone, Caoimhe Clarke, Charlie Norris and Aoife Sexton(1-00)( Subs- Hannah Murray Murray, Alannah McPhillips

Tags used in this article
Share this article

NorthernSound Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2023 Northern Sound FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus