Pauric Faulkner makes Tailteann Cup team of the year

Oct 26, 2023 12:33 By Dave Hooper
Pauric Faulkner makes Tailteann Cup team of the year
Share this article

Faulkner becomes the first man to be named on the Tailteann Cup Team of the Year, as well as a PwC All-Star Football Team of the Year

Pauric Faulkner has been named in the 2023 Tailtean Cup team of the year.

The Cavan defender becomes the first man in history to have been named on a Tailteann Cup Team of the Year, as well as a PwC All-Star Football Team of the Year.

Faulkner is the only Cavan player in the team, which see’s reigning champions Meath claim eight spots.


Meanwhile, finalists Down claim four spots with one player each coming from Antrim, Carlow and Faulkner as Cavan’s sole representive.

Meath claim eight spots on team of the year

Meath captain and veteran Donal Keogan is selected in the half-back line alongside the commanding Padraic Harnan. Fellow Meath men Seán Brennan and Adam O’Neill taking up the number one and number two jerseys respectively.


It’s a midfield slot for U20 star Conor Gray with Jack Flynn, Jordan Morris and Mathew Costello rounding off the Meath places on the team.

Meanwhile, the Mourne men are led by their captain Pierce Laverty, who takes the full-back spot. Laverty is joined in defence by Danny Magill, son of Down All-Ireland winner Miceal Magill.


Whereas, Down’s remaining inclusions come in the shape of the speedy Odhran Murdock in midfield and the goalscoring Liam Kerr at wing forward.

Antrim’s Ruairí McCann, and Carlow’s Ross Dunphy, take up the remaining two places on the Tailteann Cup team of the Year.

“After its impressive debut season in 2022 it was encouraging to see the Tailteann Cup build on that strong start last summer” said Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy.


“And is thanks to the skill and style of the players who spearheaded their county’s drive for success. I am delighted to see that talent being recognised in this selection and know that the achievement will be warmly received by your families and clubs and I congratulate you all.”

Tailteann Cup Team of the Year 2023

1 Seán Brennan (Meath)


2 Adam O’Neill (Meath)

3 Pierce Laverty (Down)

4 Padraig Faulkner (Cavan)

5 Donal Keogan (Meath)

6 Padraic Harnan (Meath)

7 Danny Magill (Down)

8 Odhran Murdock (Down)

9 Conor Gray (Meath)

10 Jack Flynn (Meath)

11 Ross Dunphy (Carlow)

12 Liam Kerr (Down)

13 Jordan Morris (Meath)

14 Mathew Costello (Meath)

15 Ruairí McCann (Antrim)

* Players from the Tailteann Cup were asked to nominate outstanding performers in the competition, with an independent selection committee adjudicating on the final team based on player performances, supported by video footage and county nominations.

Tags used in this article
Share this article

NorthernSound Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2024 Northern Sound FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus