Ulster name Senior men squad

Jul 22, 2021 10:07 By Sean McCaffrey
Ulster name Senior men squad Ulster name Senior men squad
Share this article

The countdown is on for the province's participation in the United Rugby championship and Heineken Cup campaigns

As pre-season kicks-off this week, Ulster Rugby has confirmed the line-up for its Senior Men’s squad ahead of the 2021/22 United Rugby Championship and Heineken Champions Cup campaigns. The province has named a squad of 36 fully-contracted players and seven Development players – 41 of which are Irish-qualified, with 30 players having come through the Ulster Rugby Academy pathway or Ulster club system. A raft of contract renewals earlier this year saw 27 players re-commit to the province for the season ahead, and beyond for many. This season’s Development players, all of whom are products of the Ulster Rugby Academy system - Nathan Doak, Aaron Sexton, Callum Reid, David McCann, Tom Stewart, Ethan McIlroy and Cormac Izuchukwu – are already familiar faces to Ulster fans given their contribution to both the Senior and A teams last season, as well as on the international stage.

Commenting on his squad, Head Coach, Dan McFarland, said:

 “It’s great to see the continuity within the squad as we move forward. These players have been integral to our progress so far, and I am very much looking forward to working with them over the forthcoming year. We’re looking forward to new challenges, including the United Rugby Championship and the arrival of the South African teams, which we will meet head-on. The return of our fans to Kingspan Stadium is also something that we are relishing the thought of. The opportunity to once again hear the roar of the home crowd will be a special moment for us all to share together.”


Ulster Rugby Senior Men’s squad for 2021/22 season:

Will Addison

John Andrew*


Robert Baloucoune*

Billy Burns

Sam Carter


John Cooney

Angus Curtis*

Nathan Doak*


Craig Gilroy*

Iain Henderson* (Captain)

Rob Herring


James Hume*

Cormac Izuchukwu*

Greg Jones*

Ross Kane*

Michael Lowry*

Rob Lyttle*

Ian Madigan

Luke Marshall*

David McCann*

Stuart McCloskey*

Jack McGrath

Ethan McIlroy*

Gareth Milasinovich

Marty Moore

Stewart Moore*

Jordi Murphy

Alan O’Connor*

David O’Connor

Eric O’Sullivan*

Tom O’Toole*

Marcus Rea*

Matty Rea*

Callum Reid*

Sean Reidy

Bradley Roberts*

Aaron Sexton*

David Shanahan*

Tom Stewart*

Jacob Stockdale*

Nick Timoney*

Kieran Treadwell

Andrew Warwick*


* denotes players developed through the Ulster Rugby Academy or Ulster club system.

Development players are in italics.

Tags used in this article
Share this article

NorthernSound Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.